About the award

The FOCO Bradesco/ArtRio Award, now in its fifth year, aims to encourage and promote emerging Brazilian artists (active as artists for 15 years or less). Again this year, three artists will be selected to participate in a residency and exhibition at three well-reputed institutions: Espaço Saracura (Rio de Janeiro), Ecovila Terra Una (Minas Gerais) and Instituto CAMPO + Fundação Museu do Homem Americano (Piauí).

Winning projects will be chosen by a selection committee made up of Bernardo Mosqueira, founder and director of the award, and representatives of participating institutions: Paula Borghi (curator and director of Espaço Saracura, Rio de Janeiro), Nadam Guerra (artist and director of Terra Una, Minas Gerais) and Marcelo Evelin e Niéde Guidon (curators of Instituto CAMPO + Fundação Museu do Homem Americano, Piauí). Residency location will be assigned by the committee.

The FOCO Bradesco/ArtRio Award also includes a group exhibition of the three winning artists at a special stand at ArtRio 2017. The names of the winning artists will be announced to the public and the press at the opening of the exhibition, at 4pm on September 13th, 2017.

For further information or inquiries:

The 2013 award winners were Alan Fontes, Lucas Simões and Rafael RG. On 2014, winners were Anna Costa e Silva, Renato Hofer and Ricardo Castro. The 2015 award winners were Beto Shwafaty, Carla Chaim and Carlos Mélo. The 2016 award winners were Romy Pocztaruk, Ivan Grilo and Jaime Lauriano.
Download the application form
FOCO Bradesco Award
Registration Form
Latest editions